Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search University Archives in the Knowledge Bank
The University Archives collections in the Knowledge Bank include records and documents relating to the Board of Trustees, University presidents and administrative offices, campus information, photo archives, oral interviews and live audio histories and much more.
The Photo Archives include photos of campus buildings including Page Hall, which housed the College of Law from 1903 until 1959.
Contact University Archives
2700 Kenny Road
Phone: (614) 292-2409
Hours: Mon.-Fri., 9am-4:30pm
University Archives Online
Selected Digital Archives
Selected materials such as the Course Bulletins and the OSU Board of Trustees meeting minutes as well as student publications including the Makio yearbook, the Lantern student newspaper and more have been digitized and are available online. These resources may be helpful in researching particular topics or the early history of the University including the College of Law.
The Bulletins dating from 1895-1896 and later are available in the Knowledge Bank. The early Bulletins include information about College of Law course offerings, academic requirements and faculty. A separate series was issued for the College of Law starting in 1900-1901; the Law Bulletin series is available online through 1969-1970,
Lantern Digital Archives
Search or browse every issue of the Lantern student newspaper, published continuously since January 1881. The Lantern Digital Archives include issues from January 1881 through April 2015. Current issues of the newspaper are available at: http://www.thelantern.com
Makio Digital Archives
The OSU yearbooks (Makios) are available in a searchable database for issues dating from 1880 to 2011. Beginning in 1892, the early Makios included entries for the new professional school, later the College of Law, and listed the faculty. The early law instructors were identified as "lecturers" before the school was officially established within the University. The Makios for 1880-1955 are also available in the Knowledge Bank.
Ohio State Alumni Magazine
The Ohio State alumni magazine, called different names over time, began in 1909 as a quarterly newsletter. This site includes issues from 1909 until 1979. Current issues of the magazine are available at: https://www.osu.edu/alumni/news/ohio-state-alumni-magazine/issues/
OSU Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes (1870-2014)
The minutes of meetings for 1870-2014 are available in the Knowledge Bank and serve as the official record of the proceedings of The Ohio State University Board of Trustees.
OSU Faculty Meeting Minutes (1873-1901)
Handwritten records of university-wide faculty meetings for the years 1873-1901 are available in the Knowledge Bank. Topics of discussion are noted in the left hand column. For instance, it was reported in the 1893 minutes for the 2nd term that the trustees had ordered the establishment of law lectures in the collegiate department of the university the following year.
Moritz Digital Archives in the Knowledge Bank
Currently published: fall 2007-present. Two issues annually.
Published: 1951-1953, 1956-1958 and 1964-1970.
Published as: Ohio State Law Record (1958-1965; 1971-1979), the OSU Law Record (1979-1986) and the Law Record (1986-2005).
OSU Moritz Law Class Composites
Browse the College of Law class composites (1902-1996) in the OSU Knowledge Bank by issue date, author, title, or subject.