Legal Research Databases: Congressional Resources

Use the Library Catalog to find print, electronic, and other materials in Ohio State University Libraries' collection. Search by keyword, author, title, author/title, subject, or number. Use the advanced search to narrow your results by location (Moritz Law Library), material type, and more.

Use Ohio State University Library's Discover Search to quickly find a variety of content—all from a single search box. This is one way to begin searching for articles, books, journals, media, and more.

Use the OhioLINK Catalog to locate books, periodicals, electronic resources, and other materials held by OhioLINK member libraries. These materials can be borrowed or otherwise accessed using your Ohio State username and password.

Search OSU's Online Journals List to locate online journals in subject databases. Search for a specific online journal, browse a list of e-journals by title, or browse by subject.

Use Ohio State University Libraries' comprehensive Research Databases List to find full-text articles. Search by database title or browse by topic.

Use WorldCat@OSU to search for articles and other digital resources across seven databases: Academic Search Complete, Directory of Open Access Journals, Gale Academic OneFile, MasterFILE Complete, Newspaper Source Plus, OAIster, and WorldCat.org.

Congress.gov is the official website of the Library of Congress for U.S. federal legislative information. Includes bill text from 1994 to present; some other legislative history materials from 1973 to present.

CQ Press offers resources on American government, politics, history, public policy and current affairs, including major collections on Congress, the Supreme Court and Voting and Elections; and reference tools such as CQ Almanac, the Supreme Court Compendium and Vital Statistics on American Politics.

GovTrack.us collects federal legislative data from numerous government websites to enable the user to find and track federal bill statuses, members of Congress, and congressional committees.

The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress, published daily when Congress is in session. Access provided by the U.S. Government Printing Office. 1994 to present.

ProQuest Congressional contains federal legislative history information and includes access to a wide range of Congressional documents including published and unpublished hearings, CRS reports and committee reports. Includes access to the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980.

ProQuest Indian Claims Insight allows users to research the history of U.S. Indian claims from 1789 to the present. Includes decisions, transcripts, docket books, journals of the Indian Claims Commission, a judicial panel for relations between the U.S. Government and Native American tribes, and related statutes and congressional publications.

ProQuest Legislative Insight is a federal legislative history service that makes available thoroughly researched compilations of digital full text Congressional publications relevant to enacted U.S. public laws. Provides compiled histories of laws enacted from 1789 to the present, including the following document types: bills, reports, documents, hearings, CRS reports, committee prints, Congressional Record sections, presidential signing statements, and statutes. Legislative Insight includes only documents related to the passage of a law. For hearings, reports, bills, etc., that are not part of a legislative history, please use ProQuest Congressional.

ProQuest Regulatory Insight offers U.S. federal administrative law histories for the period 1936 to the present organized by federal statute and Executive Order. Includes compilations of Federal Register (FR) notices, proposed rules, and rules representing the complete rulemaking process associated with specific Public Laws. Serves as companion database to Proquest Legislative Insight.