Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Legal Research Databases: Major Legal Databases - Page 1

Includes links to Moritz Law Library licensed databases, selected OSU research databases provided by University Libraries and OhioLINK resources available to all campus users. Includes selected, freely available resources.

Off-Campus Access

Off-site users must be logged into the library proxy to access OSU resources through the catalog. Log in via the Off Campus Sign-In (Proxy) to authenticate access if not otherwise prompted.

**Please note: Most databases are available to the entire OSU campus, although some are restricted to Moritz Law users only. Certain databases require individual login and password and are restricted to Moritz Law students, faculty and staff only. 

OSU Databases & Library Catalogs

Major Legal Databases

Major Legal Databases

Bloomberg Law     **OSU (Moritz Law users have additional access; password required)

Provides comprehensive access to up-to-date legal content as well as daily business news and market information.  Includes legal citator, cases, statutes, news, commentary and analysis, docket searching and transactional information.  Certain content available to Moritz Law students, faculty and staff only with individual password.

HeinOnline     **OSU (off-campus access)

Online searchable, legal research collection includes Law Journal Library of U.S. and foreign titles providing comprehensive coverage, Congressional Record bound volumes, U.S. Reports, state statutes and session laws, legal classics, world famous trials, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, U.S. Treaties, the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations and various, specialized collections.

Lexis+     **Moritz Law users only; password required

Comprehensive legal research platform contains federal and state primary law, secondary resources including law reviews, journals, treatises, commentary, news and more. Available only to Moritz Law students, faculty and staff with individual password.

Nexis Uni     **OSU (off-campus access)

Comprehensive news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis available to the entire OSU campus community. Offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. Includes access to federal and state statutes, cases, regulations, law reviews and journal articles; also U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.  

Proquest Congressional     **OSU (off-campus access)

Provides federal legislative history information including access to a wide range of Congressional documents, published and unpublished hearings, CRS reports and committee reports.  Includes access to the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980.

VitalLaw     **OSU (off-campus access)

VitalLaw (formerly Cheetah) provides access to knowledge and expertise from Wolters Kluwer attorneys and experts including content and explanations; curated primary sources (laws, regulations, and cases); selected CCH and Aspen Publishers titles; and practical tools, news, webinars, white papers, and blogs. Practice areas include: antitrust & competition law, banking & consumer finance, bankruptcy, cybersecurity & privacy, energy & environment, family law, healthcare, intellectual property, labor & employment law, litigation, practice of law, securities and tax.

Westlaw     **Moritz Law users only; password required

Comprehensive legal research platform contains federal and state primary law, secondary resources including law reviews, journals, treatises, commentary, news and more.  Available to Moritz Law students, faculty and staff via individual password.

Find Online Journals (A-Z)

Use the library catalog's Online Journals List to locate specific journals and eBooks in selected databases available to OSU-authorized users. Use the service if you want to:

  • locate a specific online journal or eBook title (by title of ISSN)
  • browse a list of online journal or eBook titles (A-Z)
  • identify online journal or eBook titles by subject.

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Moritz Law Library
Contact:
Drinko Hall, Moritz College of Law, 55 West 12th Avenue, Columbus Ohio, 43214
614-292-6691
Website

Reference Librarians

Reference librarians are available to offer guidance on your research projects. Reach us in person or by phone, email, or live chat. 

Reference Hours
Mon-Fri: 10:00am-4:00pm*

You can also contact a specific reference librarian for assistance:

* Holiday hours may differ; see our Hours page for more information


The law library recommends that anyone taking or considering legal action consult with an attorney. The law librarians will not give legal advice or interpret legal materials.