Law Library Orientation
Your introduction to the library, our services, and popular resources
Don't Wait!
One of the First Steps you should take is to register your legal research database accounts and unlock your access to Bloomberg, Lexis, and Westlaw. The Account Registration page also provides information on registering your accounts to four—that's right four—digital study aid collections.
Account Registration (password)
Forgot the password? Ask a Librarian.
Library Information
Access
Law students enjoy 24/7 swipe access to the law library using their BuckID. You can find the BuckID swipe on the wall to the right of the library's entrance. A successful swipe will flash green and make a high-pitched beep, allowing you to open the right-most door manually or by using the accessible push-to-open button located near the swipe.
Conscientiousness
To ensure that all students can productively use our space, we ask that everyone:
- Be mindful of your noise and follow the library's sound level guidance for each floor
- Clean up after yourself using the library's sanitizing wipes, paper towels, and trash receptacles
- Keep track of your laptop, bookbag, and other belongings
Circulation
Circulation can assist students with questions related to borrowing, renewing, and returning materials. Common questions involve finding materials in the catalog and on the shelves, using course reserves, and resolving fines.
Reference
Reference can assist students with questions related to legal research, writing, and citation style as well as scholarly research, practice readiness, and legal technology. Contact the reference team using one of the methods on our Ask a Librarian page.
Reserve Room
The library's Reserve Room contains textbooks, course reserves, study aids, job resources, and a core collection of legal treatises and resources on Ohio law. Students can access the Reserve Room during Circulation's operating hours. Reserve materials must stay in the Reserve Room or be checked out on your BuckID. Because these are high-demand items, their loan periods are short and strict. Overdue reserve materials are billed $2.00 for the first hour past due and $5.00 for each additional hour.
Course Reserves and Study Aids
Study Rooms
In addition to study carrels, tables, soft seating, and standing desks, the law library contains ten study rooms exclusively for law student use. Each room contains tables and seating for four, and our more recently updated rooms have wall-mounted monitors.
Library Tech
Mac and PC desktop computers, dual monitor hookups, printers, scanners, portable charging stations, and microfilm readers are available in the law library.
More
Library Resources
A-Z Law Databases
Check out our most commonly used legal research databases and digital resources.
Library Guides
Find useful resources for your coursework, scholarship, and more in our law librarian-curated guides.
FAQ
Browse or search for answers to common questions about the law library's policies, services, and resources.
Library Blog
Follow our blog for updates, quick tips, library insights, and other helpful information.