Library Guides: Research Guide: Election Law: Websites

Nonprofits, Advocates, and Other Organizations

Ballotpedia
An online encyclopedia of politics and elections at the federal, state, and local level, with detailed profiles of elected officials and candidates
Brennan Center for Justice
The Brennan Center's site includes documents related to its litigation and legislative advocacy, as well as research, analysis, and commentary on various topics, including voting rights and campaign finance
The Brooking's Institution
This site includes a page on Politics and Elections, which features election-related research, commentary, and analysis
The Campaign Finance Institute
The Campaign Finance Institute focuses on producing research and analysis on campaign finance policy at both the federal and state level
Campaign Legal Center
This nonprofit organization litigates, researches, and advocates in the areas of campaign finance, redistricting, and voting rights. Court documents, policy reports, and news are available on its site
Institute for Free Speech
An organization that focuses on litigating and researching in opposition to infringements on the right to free political speech. Its website includes court documents, research reports, and press releases
MapLight
MapLight pulls together data from multiple sources in order show connections between campaign contributions, elected officials, and legislative activity. It covers data for the federal government as well as the states of California and Wisconsin
The National Conference of State Legislatures
The NCSL provides policy research on a number of state law topics, including election issues. They track legislative trends and compile 50-state comparisons of election laws
Purdue University's Government Redistricting Websites Guide
This research guide collects state redistricting sites, along with other helpful redistricting resources
State Election Law eBenchbook
Created by the Election Law Program of William & Mary Law School and the National Center for the State Courts, the eBenchbook is a collection of state election codes that includes annotations to case law, regulations, and other sources. For now, the eBenchbook is limited in coverage

News and Blogs

2016 Presidential Election (on Bloomberg Law)
This page on Bloomberg Law collects news, candidate profiles, and related content (including court opinions, legislation, and law review articles) on the 2016 presidential election
CQ Roll Call
A media site that specializes in congressional news but also follows congressional and presidential elections and even includes Race Ratings for Senate, House, and Governor races
Election Law at Ohio State
The College of Law's Election Law at Ohio State program focuses on election administration, tracking pending election law litigation, expert commentary, and state-by-state election law information and developments
Election Law Blog
A blog by Professor Rick Hasen that covers election law news and analysis as well as current scholarship in the field
Election Updates
A blog providing commentary and analysis on election administration issues, with a focus on voting technology
electonline
This site operates as an aggregator of election news and information from across the United States
Five Thirty Eight
A data-based journalism blog that covers elections among a number of other topics and includes election forecasts and other interactive features
The Hill
A news site that focuses on politics and campaigns, particularly in relation to Congress
Political Wire
A blog by Taegan Goddard that follows and comments on national political news
Politico
A news site that focuses on politics and government at the federal level and includes coverage of elections
RealClearPolitics
Aside from its curated collection of political commentary and in-house reporting, this site is famous for its compilation of election polls and its RCP Poll Average, which is touted as "the most cited source for U.S. political polling information"
Sabato's Crystal Ball
A comprehensive, nonpartisan political analysis and handicapping newsletter run by the University of Virginia Center for Politics

Government Agencies

Various state and federal government agencies are involved with administering elections and enforcing election law. Theirweb sites may contain the text of the laws that their agency enforces, information for voters or candidates, or statistics and reports created by the agency itself.

Federal Agencies

Ohio Agencies

Political Parties

Political party websites will often include information like the party's platform, its charter and bylaws, and rules that govern the selection of party candidates.