Library Guides: Research Guide: Election Law: Books and Journals

General Resources

America Votes! Challenges to Modern Election Law & Voting Rights
Call Number: KF4886 .A86 2016
Published by the American Bar Association, this text provides an overview of key election law and voting rights issues, including redistricting, voter registration and ballot access, and voting technology.
American Jurisprudence 2d (Am. Jur.)
Call Number: KF154 .A42 1962 (Reference)
This legal encyclopedia includes an entire title on Elections, providing a broad overview and citations to primary law sources. Am. Jur. can also be found online on both Lexis Advance and Thomson Reuters Westlaw, as well as Nexis Uni.
American Law Reports (ALR)
ALR annotations typically concern a relatively narrow topic, providing a general overview along with a selection of relevant cases from multiple jurisdictions. This set can be found in print in the Moritz stacks on the 2nd floor, but it is also available online on Lexis Advance and Thomson Reuters Westlaw.
Congressional Quarterly's Guide to U.S. Elections
Call Number: JK1967 .C662 2016
The most recent edition of this comprehensive resource for presidential, congressional, and gubernatorial elections information can be found in the Moritz Reference Collection. Earlier editions can be found on the 3rd floor. Much of this material can also be found on the CQ Voting and Elections Collection.
Election Law Journal: Rules, Politics and Policy
Call Number: K5 .L42
A peer-reviewed journal focused on election law issues, the Election Law Journal can be found in print on the 3rd floor and online, at the above link.
International Election Principles: Democracy and the Rule of Law
Call Number: K3293 .I58 2009
An American Bar Association publication, this book examines different election administration models and practices from around the world and the human-rights and democratic standards that ground successful electoral systems.

Voting Rights

The Voting Rights Act of 1965: A Selected Annotated Bibliography, 98 Law Library Journal 663 (2006).
This helpful bibliography collects books, articles, and online resources on the Voting Rights Act of 1965 and is organized into sections on the legislative history of the Act, the provisions of the Act and its amendments, litigation of the Act, and the impact and consequences of the Act.
Redistricting Litigation: An Overview of the Legal, Statistical, and Case Management Issues
Published by the Federal Judicial Center, this text combines an overview of the law of redistricting with a summary of statistical evidence of racially polarized voting and a discussion of case management issues related to redistricting litigation.

Election Administration

Principles of the Law, Election Administration: Non-Precinct Voting and Resolution of Ballot-Counting Disputes
Call Number: KF4886 .P752 2019
Also available on Thomson Reuters Westlaw, this project of the American Law Institute sets forth principles of election administration law, including early voting, absentee voting, and the resolution of disputed elections, with special consideration of the unique issues of disputed presidential elections.
Exploring Initiative and Referendum Law
Call Number: KF241 . E54 W55 2009
Originally published as a special issue of Legal Reference Services Quarterly, this volume contains an overview of general strategies and resources for researching initiative and referendum law along with guides to the initiative and referendum process for selected states. This is also available on HeinOnline.
The Initiative and Referendum Almanac
Call Number: JF494 .W38 2003
Direct Democracy in Europe: A Comprehensive Reference Guide to the Initiative and Referendum Process in Europe
Call Number: JF497 .E85 D57 2004
This guide provides overviews of the referendum and initiative process for 26 European nations, along with a comparative evaluation of referendum and initiative procedures among 32 European nations and an appendix listing specific referendums from across Europe.

Campaign Finance

Corporate Political Activities Deskbook
Published by the Practicing Law Institute (PLI), this is a practice guide for in-house counsel that focuses on campaign finance and lobbying, among other topics.
Federal Election Campaign Financing Guide
Call Number: KF4920 .A6 C6 (Reserve Room)
This looseleaf service collects the federal statutes and regulations concerning campaign finance and the advisory opinions and forms issued by the Federal Election Commission.
Lobbying, PACs, and Campaign Finance: 50 State Handbook
Call Number: KF4920 .Z95 L63
For each of the 50 states, this handbook provides summaries of the laws concerning lobbying, government ethics, and campaign finance. This is also available on Thomson Reuters Westlaw.

Casebooks & Study Aids

Election Law by Daniel Hays Lowenstein; Richard L. Hasen; Daniel P. Tokaji; Nicholas Stephanopoulos
Call Number: KF4886.A4 L69 2022
ISBN: 9781531020811
Publication Date: 2021-12-06
Election Law in a Nutshell by Daniel Tokaji
Call Number: KF4886 .T65 2017
ISBN: 9781634602761
The Law of Democracy by Samuel Issacharoff; Pamela Karlan; Richard Pildes; Nathan Persily
Call Number: KF4880.A7 I85 2016
Voting Rights and Election Law by Michael Dimino; Michael E. Solimine; Bradley A. Smith
Call Number: KF4886 .D56 2015
Examples and Explanations for Legislation, Statutory Interpretation, and Election Law by Richard L. Hasen
Call Number: KF4930 .H37 2020
ISBN: 9781543805888

Finding Books

Search the OSU Libraries Catalog to find books in the Moritz Law Library.

Books in the Moritz Law Library are organized according to the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) call numbers.

Books on election law can be found at KF4900.

Other call number ranges that may be relevant are JK1800-2300 (voting rights, the electoral system, political parties), JF494 (referendum & initiative), JK518-524 (presidential election statistics), JK1010-1041 (congressional election statistics), and JK1965-67 (general election statistics).

Finding Databases

The Moritz Law Library and the OSU Libraries provide access to a number of electronic databases. Consult the Moritz Law Library's Major Legal Databases and the OSU Libraries' Research Databases List in order to find databases by subject or alphabetically by title.