Finding Books and E-Books in the OSU Libraries Catalog
Find books and e-books by searching the Library Catalog. The default catalog search is by keyword, but you can also search by author, title, or ISBN.
Your full Library Catalog search results will include e-books, but you can also narrow your search to e-books in these ways:
Finding E-Books in Legal Research Databases
Legal dictionaries, encyclopedias, restatements, treatises, uniform and model codes, and similar publications are often available on legal research databases. Knowing the publisher will help you narrow down where to look for the e-book. For example, Thomson Reuters publications may be available on Westlaw. Although the full text may be available, not all legal research databases include authenticated PDFs that match the print publication's pagination.
Finding Journal Articles
Most of the resources below will help you to find online law journal articles. To find articles that may only be available in print, search for the journal title in the OSU catalog or visit our Ask a Librarian page for further assistance.
To find journal articles in other disciplines, you can search for the journal title in OSU Libraries' Online Journals and eBooks List, search in the catalog, browse through OSU's Research Databases List, or ask a law librarian for assistance.
- Google ScholarA freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
- HeinOnlineFully searchable legal research collection that includes a Law Journal Library with more than 2,900 law and law-related periodicals.
- Legal Collection (EBSCOhost)Database containing full text for nearly 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals.
- Lexis+A comprehensive legal research platform that contains secondary resources including law reviews, law journals, and other periodicals. Available only to Moritz students, faculty, and staff with individual password.
- SSRN (Social Science Research Network)An open access archive of scholarly working papers and forthcoming articles in law and other disciplines. Must create an account (free) to download papers.
- Westlaw PrecisionA comprehensive legal research platform that contains secondary resources including law reviews, law journals, and other periodicals. Available only to Moritz students, faculty, and staff with individual password.
- OSU Online Journals and eBooks ListUse this service to locate a specific online journal or e-book title, browse a list of online journal or e-book titles, or identify online titles by subject (such as "Law, Politics & Government").
- OSU Research Databases ListBrowse lists of databases arranged by subject or title, or search for a specific database by title (useful for interdisciplinary research).
Books in Digital Repositories
Use a digital repository to search for books published by the United States Government, which have no copyright protection (17 U.S.C. 105), and books that have entered the public domain. For information on copyright laws, see the U.S. Copyright Office's Circulars (e.g., Circular 15A: Duration of Copyright).