Prepare to Practice and Career Resources
Bloomberg Law
The Clinics and Externships page on Bloomberg Law contains litigation and transactional resources; interviewing and career advancement advice; and on-the-job survival tips for clinic, externship, and internship programs. Bloomberg's Career Resources page contains sections on finding employers, landing a judicial clerkship, and preparing for interviews; other career advice and helpful "quick links" are also available.
Lexis
The LexisNexis Prepare to Practice program provides students with tools and resources to ensure that they understand the common tasks they will face in summer employment and beyond. Summer associates, legal interns, and judicial clerks have provided feedback to enhance the program, which also provides opportunities to earn rewards points. Resources include the Practice-Ready Certification, Spotlight Videos, Did You Know Activities, Practice Area Webinars, and Virtual and In-Person Training.
Westlaw
Westlaw also has resources to help students succeed in their law school and post-graduation employment. Westlaw’s Prepare to Practice Guide was created with feedback from practicing attorneys, and includes tips for real world legal situations and information on how to use products students may not have been exposed to in class. The Summer Webinar Series provides weekly opportunities to learn more about the different Thomson Reuters products that may be needed on the job. The Prepare to Practice certification found on the On-Demand Learning page bridges the gap between law school and practice with short video lessons covering different practical topics.
Database Certifications and CALI Lessons
- Bloomberg Law Certification ProgramThe Bloomberg Law Certification Program guides you through mastery of legal research and the resources available to you on Bloomberg Law. In addition to the on-demand training and testing available through this program, Bloomberg also provides a variety of resources for developing effective research techniques and learning more about the resources and tools available on Bloomberg Law.
- CALI Lessons on Legal ResearchLessons include Legal Research Methodology; Introduction to Search Logic and Strategies; Hold 'em, Fold 'em, Walk Away or Run: When to Stop the Search; Internet Legal Resources - Free Resources; Evaluating Web Sites; Finding Statutes; How to Find Case Law Using the Digests; and many, many more.
- LexisNexis Legal Research CertificationsThe LexisNexis Certification program is an excellent way to prove you can perform online legal research efficiently and effectively. Start with the Proficiency Certification to reinforce the research lessons you learned in your law school research and writing class. Next, complete the Practice-Ready Certification to learn the practical research skills attorneys use every day. You'll be able to add both certifications to your resume and LinkedIn profile.
- Westlaw Legal Research CertificationsEnhance your knowledge and showcase your skills with Thomson Reuters research certifications. Certification levels include Basic, Intermediate, Advanced, Foundations, Litigation Research, and Transactional Law. You'll be able to add these certifications to your resume and LinkedIn profile.
Transactional Law Tools
If your clinic or externship is more transactional-law focused, plenty of resources exist that can help you succeed, in addition to the other resources included on this page. See the links below for some of the tools available in Bloomberg, Lexis, and Westlaw.
Selected Books
The Bridge: How to Launch Your Career Through a Legal Internship by Publication Date: 2015
Excellence in the Workplace: Legal and Life Skills in a Nutshell by Publication Date: 2018
Judicial Externships: The Clinic Inside the Courthouse by Publication Date: 2016
Learning from Practice: A Text for Experiential Legal Education by Publication Date: 2016
