Ohio State navigation bar
Moritz College of Law
Use the following bibliographies, encyclopedias, and research guides to learn how to find foreign and international primary law:
Major reference resource containing over 1600 peer-reviewed, scholarly articles on public international law.
Bloomberg, Lexis, and Westlaw have a substantial amount of secondary legal materials, though what is included varies by country.
Based on the research interests of our students and faculty, the Law Library subscribes to multiple foreign legal research databases with primary law from China (Pkulaw), England and Wales (ICRL Online), India (Manupatra), and South Korea (LAWnB). We have had issues with the stability of these proxy links in the past, so let the library know if you encounter issues accessing these databases.
Chinese laws and regulations from 1949 to the present, decisions of the Supreme People's Court or the Supreme People's Procurate, tax treaties, gazettes, legal news, WTO rules relating to China, and law journals. Includes both Chinese and English language translation versions.
Manupatra provides full-text access to case decisions, statutes, bills, legislative history documents, government notifications, legal forms and other law documents from India. Users select "Click here to start your research" to gain access.
Use the following resources to find primary law materials from multiple foreign jurisdictions:
Current constitutions for every country, constitutional histories, texts on constitutional law, links to scholarly articles about constitutional development and a bibliography of selected constitutional books. Searchable by country or resource.
Digital collection of historical legal codes, statutes, regulations and commentaries on codes from the United Kingdom, France, Germany and other northern European countries. Includes important sources of historical statutes and regulations for the U.K. and the Republic of Ireland.
Full-text library of UK case law (1855-present) and legislation (1235-present). Includes updated materials for common law jurisdictions, including Canada and Australia, as well as the Times Law Reports, English Reports, and International Law Reports.
For more foreign, international, and comparative law databases, see:
For a list of links to the websites of international courts and tribunals (e.g., International Court of Justice, International Criminal Court), see: