Scholarly Research

Find academic journals, newspapers, and other periodicals by searching the Library Catalog. The default catalog search is by keyword, but you can also search by title or ISBN. If you are looking for a periodical's online component or for electronic access to the periodical, including "(Online)" in your search.

Your full Library Catalog search results with include electronic access to periodicals, but you can also narrow your search for online journals:

WorldCat@OSU

Looking for a particular article? WorldCat@OSU simultaneously searches 77 databases for quick and easy access to full text articles from academic journals, newspapers, and other periodicals. If the article is accessible online, there will be a scarlet button that you can click to "View full text."

Note that WorldCat@OSU does not search HeinOnline's Law Journal Library, so law journal articles are unlikely to appear as accessible search results.

Find It @OSU

Did you know you can integrate Google Scholar with your academic institution? Once you've added The Ohio State University as your library, your Google Scholar results will include a Find It @OSU link. By clicking the Find It @OSU link, you will be able to immediately access the article if the resource is available through the OSU Libraries Catalog.

To integrate your account, go to Google Scholar, click the Menu icon > Settings > Library Links, add "The Ohio State University Libraries - Find It @OSU."

Note that Google Scholar does include articles from HeinOnline's Law Journal Library in its search results.

Databases -- Academic Journals

Tip: EBSCOhost Databases with journal collections include Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, and MasterFILE Premier.

Databases -- Newspapers

Tip: Articles from The New York Times (Online) and over 300 other newspaper websites are available through ProQuest.

Databases -- Newspapers -- Historical

Databases -- Newspapers -- Ohio

Tip: The Cincinnati Enquirer and all other Gannett-owned newspapers are only available through ProQuest.

Databases -- Magazines

Tip: Web articles from The Economist (Online), Forbes (Online), Fortune (Online), etc. are also available through these databases.

Databases -- All Periodicals

Tip: Many major publications have their own institutional repositories, like our College's collection in the University's Knowledge Bank.