Skip to main content

Research Assistant Resources

Searching for Legislative History

What is "legislative history"?

Legislative history refers to the compilation of documents created during the legislative process. These documents include published and unpublished committee hearings, committee reports, bills, etc.

For a quick summary of the legislative process, see the following resources:

Federal Legislative History Resources

Congress.gov
The official website for U.S. federal legislative information, including information on Members of Congress, committees (1995 - Present), the Congressional Record (1995 - Present), nominations, treaty documents, and bills (1973 - Present).

Govinfo.gov
Provides free public access to official, authenticated publications from all three branches of the federal government, including select legislative materials. Most coverage is from 1993 to present.

HeinOnline Federal Legislative Histories [off-campus]
Includes comprehensive federal legislative histories for major Acts of Congress. The unique finding aid makes this a great place to begin your federal legislative history research.

‚ÄčProQuest Congressional [off-campus]
Comprehensive database with deep coverage on reports, hearings, bills, and Congressional Record volumes, in addition to compiled legislative histories.

ProQuest Legislative Insight [off-campus]
A partner product to ProQuest Congressional with select compiled federal legislative histories. Great database for locating all legislative documents associated with a particular Act of Congress.

Westlaw Edge (U.S. GAO Federal Legislative Histories and Arnold & Porter Legislative Histories)
GAO contains legislative histories for most public laws enacted between 1921 and 1995. Arnold & Porter contains legislative histories for recent, major Acts of Congress.

Ohio Legislative History Resources

Gongwer Ohio News Service [Drinko Hall only]
Daily news report that provides detailed coverage on every bill in the legislature.

Ohio Capitol Connection [off-campus]
Database containing Ohio legislative information and related news articles from Hannah News Service.

Ohio General Assembly
Website containing Ohio legislative information and recent legislative reports.

Ohio Legislative Service Commission
Bipartisan agency that provides resources regarding legislative information and other subjects.

Legislative History Resources for Other States

Indiana University Bloomington Law Library's Research Guide
An index of legislative history research guides for all 50 states and the District of Columbia.