Skip to main content

Research Assistant Resources

Searching for Articles in Law Journals

HeinOnline [off-campus]
To find a specific journal, use the Law Journal Library database link to search alphabetically. To find a specific article, use the Advanced Search to search by Title, Author, Text, or Date. You can also search by citation using the Citation tab. However, the database may have trouble finding the article if the citation is not properly Bluebook-ed.

 

Lexis Advance
To find a specific journal, use the Law Reviews & Journals index to search by State or Practice Area. To find a specific article, used the Advanced Search to search by Title, Author, Terms, or Date. Again, if you are using a citation, double-check it.

For trainings and tutorials on how to search for law journal articles, look visit Lexis Advance’s Support & Training page: https://www.lexisnexis.com/en-us/support/lexis-advance/default.page

 

Westlaw Edge
To find a specific journal, first click the Secondary Sources link. On the right-hand side of the screen, you will find the “Law Reviews & Journals Index,” which lets you search alphabetically. To find a specific article, click on Secondary Sources to narrow your search, then use the Advanced Search to search by Title, Author, Date, Text, or Citation. Once more, if you are using a citation, double-check that it is properly Bluebook-ed.

For trainings and tutorials on how to search for law journal articles, visit Westlaw’s Training and Support page: https://legal.thomsonreuters.com/en/support/westlaw-edge

 

SSRN (Social Science Research Network)
SSRN contains scholarly working papers and forthcoming articles in law and other disciplines. The database allows you to search articles by Author, Title, Abstract, Text, and Date. You can also Browse by Network or Subject Area. Law eJournals can be found under the Social Sciences tab.

 

Other Major Legal Databases: organized alphabetically by title and by subject

  • Article Indexes: search by indexed topic (good alternative to full-text searching)

Searching for Articles in Non-Law Journals

Academic Search Complete [off-campus] a multi-disciplinary full-text article database

Google Scholar: a multi-disciplinary database

  • Google Scholar links to many resources the library provides. If you are off campus, log in using the Off-Campus Sign In for easier access to these articles.

JSTOR [off-campus]: a multidisciplinary database

OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC): a multi-disciplinary database 

Scopus [off-campus]: a database with discipline-specific collections in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences

SSRN (Social Science Research Network)

Web of Science [off-campus]: a database with discipline-specific collections in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences

More Databases: