Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Accuracy Check Resources: Foreign and International Law

A guide to assist Moritz law journal members with cite-checking article drafts.

Off-Campus Access

Many OSU Libraries resources are available off campus. Some will prompt for your name.# and password; others will only grant access if you are using the Off-Campus Sign In, which can be found on the OSU Libraries homepage.

Moritz Law Library LibGuides

Moritz Law Library has other LibGuides that may help you find foreign and international resources:

Additional Research Guides

The following LibGuides may also be helpful:

Foreign and International Law Databases

EUR-Lex
​The principle website for EU treaties, directives, regulations, decisions, court judgments, and other documents

Global-Regulation     **OSU (off-campus access)
A searchable database of regulations and laws from 51 countries, translating laws into English using machine translation

International Encyclopaedia of Laws      **OSU (off-campus access)
This series features the law of nations and international organizations relating to major fields of law, including contracts, criminal law, cyber law, energy law, environmental law, IP, family law and succession, media law, medical law, migration law, and more. Moritz Law Library has access to selected titles in the series

Kluwer Arbitration     **OSU (off-campus access)
An online resource for international arbitration research including primary source materials and expert commentary. Available materials include: bilateral investment treaties, legislation for key jurisdictions, articles of conventions, rules of arbitral institutions, books, journals, and news

Kluwer IP Law     **OSU (off-campus access)
A database offering case law, legislation, news, and analysis relating to U.S., foreign, and international IP law including industrial law, patent law, copyright and trademark law, and intellectual property law across a range of jurisdictions

UN Official Document System
The principle website for UN conventions, records, resolutions, reports, and other documents

vLex Global    **OSU (off-campus access)
An international library with content from over 130 countries. Includes legislation, case law, news, legal forms, books, and journals

Westlaw China     **OSU (off-campus access)
A searchable database with full-text access to laws and regulations of the People's Republic of China in English and Standard Mandarin

World Constitutions Illustrated     **OSU (off-campus access)
Resource containing the current constitution for every country, constitutional histories, texts on constitutional law, links to scholarly articles about constitutional development, and a bibliography of selected constitutional books. Searchable by country or resource​

Treaties

HeinOnline     **OSU (off-campus access)
The United Nations Law Collection contains the United Nations Treaty Series (U.N.T.S.) and the League of Nations Treaty Series (L.N.T.S.). Additionally, HeinOnline contains the U.S. Statutes at Large and the U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library, which contains United States Treaties and Other International Agreements (U.S.T.) and TIAS Agreements. 

United Nations Treaty Collection
A database containing certified true copies of over 560 multilateral treaties as well as authoritative, up-to-date information on the status of each treaty. This database on the UN site can be difficult to use.

International Courts

International court websites typically provide information on the treaty establishing the court, court rules, court opinions and filings, and sometimes video of court proceedings. For examples, see the International Criminal Court and the International Court of Justice.

Legal Abbreviations

The Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations is a useful database of legal citation abbreviations. Use it to understand an unfamiliar foreign or international legal citation in order to more easily find a publication in the library catalog or an online database.