Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Accuracy Check Resources: Litigation

A guide to assist Moritz law journal members with cite-checking article drafts.

Off-Campus Access

Many OSU Libraries resources are available off campus. Some will prompt for your name.# and password; others will only grant access if you are using the Off-Campus Sign In, which can be found on the OSU Libraries homepage.

Supreme Court Documents

The U.S. Supreme Court's case dockets include links to electronic images of most filings submitted to the court after November 13, 2017. To see more information about case documents, visit the Supreme Court's website.

State Court Litigation Documents

While some state court litigation documents are available on Bloomberg Law, usually the only information available is the list of documents filed. As an alternative, check the Clerk of Court's website in the county where the case was filed.

Federal Court Litigation Documents

Bloomberg Law     **OSU (Moritz Law users have additional access; password required)

Provides comprehensive access to up-to-date legal content as well as daily business news and market information.  Includes legal citator, cases, statutes, news, commentary and analysis, docket searching and transactional information.  Certain content available to Moritz Law students, faculty and staff only with individual password.

Bloomberg Law contains the same coverage available in the Federal Courts' PACER system. From the "Browse" tab on the main page, click the "Litigation Intelligence Center." From there, locate cases by docket number and court or use the advanced search function for additional options.

Appellate Briefs

ABA's Preview of United States Supreme Court Cases
An eight-issue publication providing expert, plain-language analysis of all cases given plenary review by the Supreme Court in advance of oral argument from 2005 to present

Bloomberg Law     **OSU (Moritz Law users have additional access; password required)

Lexis Advance     **Moritz Law users only; password required

SCOTUSblog
Founded in 2002, the blog reports on each merits case before the Supreme Court and provides access to all briefs for the merits cases and petitions that it reviews 

U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978     **OSU (off-campus access)
A digital archive containing nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court between 1832 and 1978

Westlaw Edge     **Moritz Law users only; password required

Court Opinions in Print

Moritz Law Library has a comprehensive set of case reporters containing judicial opinions from the federal and state systems. These volumes are located in the State and National Collection.

Court Opinions in Databases

Many of the legal research databases contain PDF copies of federal and state cases, including HeinOnline, Lexis Advance, and Westlaw Edge. You can access these databases by viewing our Legal Research Databases LibGuide.