Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Accuracy Check Resources: Legislation & Legislative History

A guide to assist Moritz law journal members with cite-checking article drafts.

Off-Campus Access

Many OSU Libraries resources are available off campus. Some will prompt for your name.# and password; others will only grant access if you are using the Off-Campus Sign In, which can be found on the OSU Libraries homepage.

Searching for Legislative History

What is "legislative history"?
Legislative history refers to the compilation of documents created during the legislative process. These documents include published and unpublished committee hearings, committee reports, bills, etc.

For a quick summary of the legislative process, see the following resources:

Congressional Document Collections on HeinOnline

HeinOnline     **OSU (off-campus access)
A legal database containing many useful collections in PDF original image form. These collections are organized by "library" on the left side of the database main page. Several libraries are relevant for both state and federal legislative history research, including:

  • Code of Federal Regulations
  • Federal Register Library
  • Session Laws Library (containing state session laws)
  • State Statutes: A Historical Archive (containing historical state codes)
  • U.S. Code (including historical versions and other compilations of federal laws)
  • U.S. Congressional documents (including the Congressional Record, hearings, CRS reports, and committee prints)
  • U.S. Statutes at Large (containing federal session laws)

Federal Legislative History Resources

Congress.gov
The official website for U.S. federal legislative information, including information on Members of Congress, committees (1995 - Present), the Congressional Record (1995 - Present), nominations, treaty documents, and bills (1973 - Present).

Govinfo.gov
Provides free public access to official, authenticated publications from all three branches of the federal government, including select legislative materials. Most coverage is from 1993 to present.

HeinOnline Federal Legislative Histories     **OSU (off-campus access)
Includes comprehensive federal legislative histories for major Acts of Congress. The unique finding aid makes this a great place to begin your federal legislative history research.

ProQuest Congressional     **OSU (off-campus access)
Comprehensive database with deep coverage on reports, hearings, bills, and Congressional Record volumes, in addition to compiled legislative histories.

ProQuest Legislative Insight     **OSU (off-campus access)
A partner product to ProQuest Congressional with select compiled federal legislative histories. Great database for locating all legislative documents associated with a particular Act of Congress.

Westlaw Edge      **Moritz Law users only; password required
U.S. GAO Federal Legislative Histories and Arnold & Porter Legislative Histories

GAO contains legislative histories for most public laws enacted between 1921 and 1995. Arnold & Porter contains legislative histories for recent, major Acts of Congress.

Ohio Legislative History Resources

Gongwer Ohio News Service     **Drinko Hall only
Daily news report that provides detailed coverage on every bill in the legislature.

Ohio Capitol Connection     **OSU (off-campus access)
Database containing Ohio legislative information and related news articles from Hannah News Service.

Ohio General Assembly
Website containing Ohio legislative information and recent legislative reports.

Ohio Legislative Service Commission
Bipartisan agency that provides resources regarding legislative information and other subjects.

Federal Legislative History Guides

For information on the legislative process and how to locate specific documents types, see the following research guides:

Ohio Legislative History Guides

For more information on how to find Ohio legislative history, see:

Other Legislative History Guides

For an index of legislative history research guides for all 50 states and the District of Columbia, see: