Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Accuracy Check Resources: Newspaper Articles

A guide to assist Moritz law journal members with cite-checking article drafts.

Off-Campus Access

Many OSU Libraries resources are available off campus. Some will prompt for your name.# and password; others will only grant access if you are using the Off-Campus Sign In, which can be found on the OSU Libraries homepage.

Bluebooking Online Newspaper Articles

Some newspaper articles are online-only and do not appear in a print edition. To properly cite these sources, see Rule B16.6(f), which indicates that "[o]nline newspapers may be used in place of print newspapers" and that "[p]agination can be included if available but is not necessary."

 

Searching for Newspaper Articles

Chronicling America
Search and read newspaper pages from 1836-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Factiva     **OSU (off-campus access)
Provides global content, including Dow Jones and Reuters Newswires and The Wall Street Journal--unduplicated in a single service elsewhere

Google Newspaper Archive
An extension of Google News providing free access to scanned archives of newspapers and links to other newspaper archives on the web, both free and paid. New content no longer being added

Lexis Advance     **Moritz Law users only; password required
A comprehensive legal research platform contains federal and state primary law, secondary resources including law reviews, journals, treatises, commentary, news and more. Available only to Moritz Law students, faculty and staff with individual password

NewsBank - Ohio Newspapers     **OSU (off-campus access)
Provides full articles from Ohio newspapers, including:

  • Akron Beacon Journal (12/29/1984 - Current)
  • Cincinnati Post (04/02/1990 - 12/31/2007)
  • Cleveland Plain Dealer (06/01/1991 - Current)
  • Columbus Dispatch (07/16/1985 - Current)
  • Dayton Daily News (03/01/1990 - Current)
  • Toledo Blade (09/24/1996 - Current)

ProQuest Historical & Recent Newspapers     **OSU (off-campus access)
A database offering full text including images for several prominent newspapers from the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries, together in a searchable interface.

Westlaw Edge     **Moritz Law users only; password required
A comprehensive legal research platform contains federal and state primary law, secondary resources including law reviews, journals, treatises, commentary, news and more.  Available to Moritz Law students, faculty and staff via individual password

More Databases

Major National Newspapers

Moritz Law Library is subscribed to the following major national newspapers, which are available in different forms and from multiple sources.
 

Originally founded as the New-York Daily Times in September 1851. Access previous editions using the following:
Founded in July 1889 primarily to cover business and financial news. Access previous editions using the following:
Founded in December 1877 with a particular emphasis on national politics and the federal government. Access previous editions using the following:

Newspapers in Print

The current week's copy of the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post are available in the Moritz Reserve Room.

Finding a Specific Newspaper

The OSU Libraries Newspaper Research Guide can help you find newspaper articles in the university's print, electronic, and microform collections.

Additionally, if you know the title of the newspaper you are looking for, you can search for it using the OSU Libraries Catalog or the Online Journals List.

Interlibrary Loan

If you can't find a newspaper title in either the Library Catalog or OhioLINK, check WorldCat [off-campus] to see if a library outside of Ohio has the item. If so, fill out an orange interlibrary loan request form at the reference desk.

You can also use the main library's interlibrary service, ILLiad, to request articles. If you need a PDF version of a source that replicates the print version, specify this in the online form.