Skip to main content

Research Assistant Resources: Home

COVID-19 Update

In an effort to keep our community safe and following the university's coronavirus (COVID-19) protocols, the Moritz Law Library has closed and moved to a virtual services model. Our extensive collection of digital materials remains available, and the majority of library services are accessible remotely. Visit our COVID-19 Library Updates LibGuide to learn more about the library's response. 

For more information on what remote services are available to RAs, please look for our Summer 2020 Research Assistant Training below.

Reference Librarians

Reference librarians are available to offer guidance for your research projects. Reach us in person or by phone, email, or live chat. See our Ask a Librarian page for more details.

Reference Desk Hours
Mon-Fri: 10:00am-4:00pm*

You may also contact a specific reference librarian for assistance.

* Summer and holiday hours may differ; see our Hours page for more information

Navigating the Library

Use this Map, which can also be found posted around the library, to see where particular call numbers are located.

Off-Campus Access

Many OSU Libraries resources are available off campus. Some will prompt for your name.# and password; others will only grant access if you are using the Off-Campus Sign In, which can be found on the OSU Libraries homepage.

Introduction

Congratulations! You have been hired as a research assistant (RA) for a member of our esteemed faculty. This LibGuide provides information on which library services, legal databases, and relevant resources are available to RAs. In addition, in the box to the right you will find a recorded presentation that will help orient you to the library and its resources. The recorded presentation lasts approximately 30 minutes and covers a wide range of topics, including:

  • Basics (e.g., borrowing materials, interlibrary loans)
  • Library catalogs (Ohio State University Libraries Catalog, OhioLINK, WorldCat)
  • Access to legal databases (Bloomberg Law, Lexis Advance, Westlaw Next)
  • Interdisciplinary databases (e.g., Academic Search Complete, JSTOR)

Some of these topics reflect recent changes in library resources and policies given the COVID-19 pandemic.

Access to Major Legal Databases: Through Summer and After Graduation

Continuing students have full access to Bloomberg Law for personal and professional use during the summer. If you have not done so already, you can register for Bloomberg Law at http://bloomberglaw.com/activate using your law school email address (name.#@osu.edu). Disregard the blue box asking for an activation code; you do NOT need a code to register.

Graduating students have full access to Bloomberg Law for six months after graduation. No additional registration is required.

Continuing students have access to Lexis Advantage’s full content for any paid or unpaid purpose throughout the summer. No additional registration is necessary, and there is no usage cap. Lexis also continues to provide free printing in the law library’s computer lab.

Graduating students will have access to Lexis Advance until December 31, 2020. Graduates will also have access to the Lexis Graduate Home Page, beginning August 2019, which provides career and job search information. No additional registration is required.

Continuing students have full access to Westlaw over the summer. No additional registration necessary. Please note, however, that summer access is limited to educational purposes. Permissible uses include:

  • Research Assistant work
  • Summer coursework Journal or Moot Court research
  • Unpaid non-profit work (if receiving academic credit)
  • Unpaid internships or externships (if receiving academic credit)

Graduating students can extend access while studying for the Bar by registering for Westlaw's Grad Elite Program. To register, go to http://lawschool.westlaw.com/authentication/gradelite. Registered graduates have access to Westlaw for six months after graduation, restricted to 60 hours of non-commercial use per month.

Many other databases on the Moritz Law Library website, including HeinOnline and ProQuest Congressional, will continue to be available to students over the summer. To access these databases off campus, use the “off-campus access” links on the law library’s Legal Research Databases page, and log in using your name.#.

Graduating students will not be able to access these databases of campus after their name.# expires. However, alumni may use these databases in the library—we welcome you to come back for a visit. See the document below for additional information on library resources for graduating students.

 

Stop by the Reference Desk or email Susan Azyndar, Reference Librarian (azyndar.1@osu.edu) if you have any questions about database access.

Library Basics for Summer RAs - Recorded Presentation

In lieu of our annual in-person RA training session, the Moritz Law Library has recorded a brief presentation to help orient new RAs to the law library and the many resources available to Moritz students. Links to both parts of the presentation as well as the PowerPoint slides are available below:

One-Page Summary