Skip to main content

Justice Scalia, the U.S. Supreme Court, and Supreme Court Nominations: Supreme Court Nominations

This research guide provides a bibliography of works on and by Justice Antonin Scalia, works about the Supreme Court of the United States, and a guide to researching Supreme Court nominations.

Books on the Nomination Process

Books on Previous Nominations

Nomination of Neil Gorsuch

Neil Gorsuch Project      **Free web site

Collection of 10th Circuit Court of Appeals decisions authored by Judge Gorsuch, along with a bibliography of books, articles, and speeches written by Gorsuch.

Biographical Information   **Free web site 

From the Federal Judicial Center's Biographical Directory.

Judge Gorsuch's Responses to Senate Judiciary Committee Questionnaire   **Free web site

Find out about Judge Gorsuch through his responses to questions from the Senate Judiciary Committee, including his 10 most significant cases, 10 most significant litigation matters handled, and most significant legal activities.

Hearing for Appellate Appointment     **Free web site

This document presents the Senate Judiciary Committee hearing that led to Gorsuch's appointment to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the  Tenth Circuit.

Potential nominee profile: Neil Gorsuch     ** Free web site

This SCOTUSBlog post offers plenty of useful analysis of Gorsuch's background and record.

Judge Neil M. Gorsuch:  His Jurisprudence and Potential Impact on the Supreme Court    **Free web site

The Congressional Research Service offers its full report on Gorsuch's nomination.  The report begins by focusing on the role of the judiciary and statutory interpretation, and it analyzes Goruch's potential impact on 14 areas of law.

The Essential Neil Gorsuch Reader:  What Judge Gorsuch Cases Should You Read?   **Free web site

Congressional Research Service attorneys list and link to notable Gorsuch cases, organized by area of law.

Neil Gorsuch's Nomination to the Supreme Court:  Initial Observations     ** Free web site

As it prepares a fuller report, the Congressional Research Service offers basic background an Gorsuch as well as an initial assessment of his jurisprudence and how it would affect the Court. 

Supreme Court Nominations:  Neil M. Gorsuch     **Free web site

The Law Library of Congress has pulled together selected articles, books, and congressional materials featuring or authored by Judge Gorsuch.

Appearances on C-SPAN      **Free web site

Videos of Judge Gorsuch's appearances on C-SPAN, including speeches on the "ironies of the law" and on Justice Scalia's legacy.

Neil Gorsuch's Author Profile on HeinOnline      **OSU (off-campus access)

Collecting Judge Gorsuch's writings published in law reviews.

Supreme Court Nominations Research Guide:  Nomination of Neil M. Gorsuch to Replace Associate Justice Antonin Scalia

The Georgetown Law Library has compiled a list of materials about and by Judge Gorsuch, including biographies, opinion summaries, and briefs.

Supreme Court Nomination Hearings

Supreme Court Nomination Hearings     **Free web site

Senate Hearings before the Judiciary Committee on Supreme Court nominees available on FDSys. Going back to the nomination of Justices Rehnquist and Powell in 1971.

History of Supreme Court Nominations      **OSU (off-campus access)

HeinOnline Collection that includes The Supreme Court of the United States: Hearings and Reports on Successful and Unsuccessful Nominations of Supreme Court Justices by the Senate Judiciary Committee, which contains materials going back to the nomination of Justice Brandeis in 1916 and is also available in print at KF8744 .U55. The Collection also includes a bibliography, scholarly articles, and options for browsing titles by Justice.

Previous Nominees

Law Library of Congress - Supreme Court Nominations      **Free web site

Selected resources, including articles, books, briefs, videos and other resources featuring or authored by the five most recent nominees, as well as a selection of resources on judicial nominations.

U.S. Senate: Supreme Court Nominations, 1789-present      **Free web site

A list of every Supreme Court nominee, organized chronologically. For each nominee, the list includes who the nominee was nominated to replace, the date of nomination, and, if voted on, the vote tally, result, and date.

CRS Reports

The Supreme Court Appointment Process

In 2015, the Congressional Research Service issued a series of reports on the process of the appointment of a Supreme Court Justice.

Supreme Court Appointment Process: President's Selection of a Nominee      **Free web site

Supreme Court Appointment Process: Consideration by the Senate Judiciary Committee      **Free web site

Supreme Court Appointment Process: Senate Debate and Confirmation Vote      **Free web site

Other Reports

Other CRS reports concerning Supreme Court nominations include the following:

The Death of Justice Scalia: Procedural Issues Arising on an Eight-Member Supreme Court      **Free web site

Covers the Supreme Court rules that address how Court operations are affected when fewer than nine Justices staff the Court. Identifies several cases in the current term that could result in an 4-4 tie.

Supreme Court Nominations: Senate Floor Procedure and Practice, 1789-2011     **Free web site

Analyzes the changing patterns and historical trends of Senate procedure in the consideration of Supreme Court nominations.

Questioning Supreme Court Nominees About Their Views on Legal or Constitutional Issues: A Recurring Issue      **Free web site

Investigates the issue of whether the Senate Judiciary Committee should question Supreme Court nominess on their personal views on current or past constitutional issues.

Speed of Presidential and Senate Actions on Supreme Court Nominations, 1900-2010      **Free web site 

Information on the amount of time taken to act on Supreme Court vacancies, measured from the time the President first learns of a Justice's intention to leave the Court.

Supreme Court Nominations Not Confirmed, 1789-August 2010      **Free web site 

Information on the 36 Supreme Court nominations that were not confirmed by the Senate.

Subject Guide

Paul Gatz

Contact a Reference Librarian

Reference Desk Phone: (614) 292-9463

Reference Email: lawlibref@osu.edu

Live Chat with a librarian (during reference desk hours, M-F 10am-5pm)

Additional Research Guide

Supreme Court Nominations Research Guide      **Free web site

Created by the Georgetown Law Library, this research guide includes sources on the nomination process in general, as well as collections of materials on the last 5 nominees (both successful and unsuccessful).