Skip to main content

Research Assistant Resources

Introduction

Congratulations! You have been hired as a research assistant (RA) for a member of our esteemed faculty. This LibGuide provides information on which library services, legal databases, and relevant resources are available to RAs. In addition, please take advantage of our annual RA training session, which we provide at the start of summer. The session lasts about an hour and covers a wide range of topics, including:

  •   Basics (e.g., RA copy cards, proxy borrowing for faculty, interlibrary loans)
  •   Library catalogs (Ohio State University Libraries Catalog, OhioLINK, WorldCat)
  •   Access to legal databases (Bloomberg Law, Lexis Advance, Westlaw Next)
  •   Interdisciplinary databases (e.g., Academic Search Complete, JSTOR)

Your faculty member will provide more information on the training session (date, time, location) near the end of the Spring semester. 

Access to Major Legal Databases: Through Summer and After Graduation

Bloomberg Law

Continuing students have full access to Bloomberg Law for personal and professional use during the summer. If you have not done so already, you can register for Bloomberg Law at http://bloomberglaw.com/activate using your law school email address (name.#@osu.edu). Disregard the blue box asking for an activation code; you do NOT need a code to register.

Graduating students have full access to Bloomberg Law for six months after graduation. No additional registration required.

 

Lexis Advance

Continuing students have access to Lexis Advantage’s full content for any paid or unpaid purpose throughout the summer. No additional registration is necessary, and there is no usage cap. Lexis also continues to provide free printing in the law library’s computer lab.

Graduating students will have access to Lexis Advance until December 31, 2019. Graduates will also have access to the Lexis Graduate Home Page, beginning August 2019, which provides career and job search information. No additional registration required.

 

Westlaw Edge

Continuing students have full access to Westlaw over the summer. No additional registration necessary. Please note, however, that summer access is limited to educational purposes. Permissible uses include:

  •   Research Assistant work
  •   Summer coursework
  •   Journal or Moot Court research
  •   Unpaid non-profit work (if receiving academic credit)
  •   Unpaid internships or externships (if receiving academic credit)

Graduating students can extend access while studying for the Bar by registering for Westlaw’s Grad Elite Program. To register, go to http://lawschool.westlaw.com/authentication/gradelite. Registered graduates have access to Westlaw for six months after graduation, restricted to 60 hours of non-commercial use per month.

 

Other Databases

Many other databases on the Moritz Law Library website, including HeinOnline and ProQuest Congressional, will continue to be available to students over the summer. To access these databases off campus, use the “off-campus access” links on the law library’s Legal Research Databases page, and log in using your name.#.

Graduating students will not be able to access these databases of campus after their name.# expires. However, alumni may use these databases in the library — we welcome you to come back for a visit.

 

Stop by the Reference Desk or email Susan Azyndar, Reference Librarian (azyndar.1@osu.edu) if you have any questions about database access.