Skip to main content

Law School Academic Success

This guide features resources to help you succeed in law school.

Moritz Law Library Study Aids Collections

The Moritz Law Library offers study aids in multiple formats.  This page discusses online study aids collections, CALI, audio study aids, and study aids series that you can find online and in print.  Instructions for accessing online study aids collections are first, followed by descriptions of some popular study aids series.

The Moritz Law Library's reserve room has a special section for print study aids.  You may use them in the library or check them out for 24 hours (an exception to our usual reserve room policy).  To find study aids in print, search the library catalog for the title or series.  Here is a link to a sample search for the Understanding series

West Academic Study Aids

The Moritz Law Library subscribes to West's online Study Aids collection. This collection includes over 400 titles, including series such as Acing, Concepts & Insights, and Nutshells. Topics range from contracts to oil and gas law. You will also find titles on law school success and career success.  Access these materials with this link.  If off campus, you will need to log in as an OSU user.  Please see below for a description of some of the series available in this collection.

Wolters Kluwer Study Aids

The law library has subscribed to the online Wolters Kluwer Study Aids, and this resource is available to  all Moritz students.  This collection includes popular series such as Examples and Explanations, Glannon Guides, and Emmanuel Law Outlines. Please see below for a description of some of the series available in this collection. To start using it, you will need to set up an account.

  • Your login info can be found on the Moritz intranet. If this doesn’t work, reach out to the library circulation or reference desks for help.
  • Once you’re logged in, you can personalize your experience (i.e., take notes, add bookmarks, and highlight text by creating an account or clicking on “To Personalize Login”)

CALI

Audio Study Aids

Study Aids Series

Study aids present material in different formats:  flow charts, outlines, text.  Here is a set of descriptions to help you navigate which series might work best for you.  The links for each series will take you to the Moritz Law Library catalog, showing which specific legal topics our collection has for each series.  Alternatively, search the catalog with the series title and the legal topic (e.g., "concepts and insights" property).  The descriptions note which series are included in the West Study Aids collection described above.