Skip to main content

COVID-19 Library Updates

This guide provides information and updates to the Moritz community about library services and access during campus precautions for COVID-19 coronavirus.

COVID-19 Moritz Response

Due to COVID-19, Moritz College of Law classes will be conducted online.  Many of our students, faculty, and staff are working from home.  Although the Moritz Law Library is closed, we are still able to offer many services during this time.  This guide highlights important services, but please keep in mind that you are welcome to use our ask a librarian service for further questions.

We will update this guide with new information we receive.

Accessing Textbooks Remotely

Access to electronic versions of course materials varies by publisher.  Here is contact information for the publishers who have let us know they are offering complimentary online access:

The Bluebook:  Codes for access to The Bluebook online are being distributed to all 1L students.  Additional access in process.

Carolina Academic Press:

Carolina Academic Press is partnering with VitalSource Helps, which allows students at affected schools to access their ebooks for free. Read more about this program here.  CAP would also like to let you know that we are granting access to our new Click & Learn Civil Procedure program to students through the end of the semester for half off using the code ATHOME20. Click & Learn is designed to be used either as part of a class or by students studying on their own. To learn more about VitalSource, Click & Learn, or if you have any other questions for us, please contact Beth Hall at bhall@cap-press.com. If your title is not listed on vitalsource.com, let Beth know so that other arrangements can be made.

 

Lexis: Free e-casebooks may be available on a title by title decision basis. Students must call 800-833-9844 to see if their casebook is eligible. 

 

West Academic

Offers complimentary eBook access to casebooks for students that do not have access to their required course materials such as students who share books, or use another copy and do not have personal access to the content.

1. Have created a West Academic account (same as your West Academic Study Aids (WASA) account; this is not your Westlaw). If you need to create a West Academic account, click here.

2. Next, call 877.888.1330 (ext.4) to setup your eBook access.

3. Have the title, author, or ISBN for your casebook available.

 

Wolters Kluwer:   At this time, student downloads are limited to 7 titles and trial access will expire on Monday, May 25th, 2020.

  1. To get started, students should visit bookshelf.vitalsource.com and log-in or create a Bookshelf account with their institution-provided email address. 
  2. Here are instructions on creating a Bookshelf account for both students and instructors.
  3. Once students create an account with an institution-provided email address, they should log in and click on the “Explore” tab in the upper left corner of the screen. This tab provides access to the freely available e-textbooks.

 

Study Aids: Remember that the Moritz Law Library already provides many study aids, which you can access through the catalog.  Wolters Kluwer Study Aids has added (for more details see the document below):

  • More than 200 short videos on fundamental concepts of law—the new content feature most requested by students in a recent survey conducted by Wolters Kluwer
  • More than 200 audio lectures and text-to-speech capabilities for all books, two of the most popular features requested by students in a recent survey
  • Student treatises, include bar exam treatises

 

LexisNexis Digital Library: For the next two months, Moritz users have access to this digital library ot treatises, practice guides, study guides, and more in ebook format. The collection includes prominent treatises like Moore's Federal Practice, Nimmer on Copyright, and Collier on Bankruptcy. Some of these materials are available on Lexis Advance, but the digital library's ebook platform makes these works more easily readable. The "Understanding" study aid series is also available on this platform. Activate trial access here: https://lexisdl.com/library/lndltrial. Use your OSU email address as your user name.

 

Accessing Databases

You can access password-based databases like Westlaw, Lexis, and Bloomberg remotely from any location by logging in with your individually created username and password.

You can access all other OSU research databases, including IP-authenticated legal databases such as HeinOnline, Cheetah, and ProQuest Congressional, remotely from the OSU library catalog or the OSU Research Databases List.  You will be asked to sign in with your Ohio State credentials.

Please note that accessing these databases off-campus via the catalog or the Research Databases List does NOT work when you are logged in to Ohio State VPN.  However, logging in to these databases via the catalog or the Research Databases List is the most seamless way to access them remotely.  While using VPN, you can access databases by clicking on the off-campus links on the Moritz Legal Research Databases list.  If you are getting a message that your access to a subscription is blocked, please try using another secure network connection.

Reference Services

Reference services will continue to be available from 10am-4pm Monday through Friday. However, the reference desk will not be staffed. Instead, you may contact a reference librarian via e-mail, chat, or telephone (see the library’s Ask a Librarian page for more details). Librarians can also offer research consultations via telephone or online.

Circulation Services

We ask that everyone keep materials checked out for the moment. Fines will be waived.