Skip to main content
Banner Image

Accuracy Check Resources: Home

A guide to assist Moritz law journal members with cite-checking article drafts.

Overview of Library's Accuracy Check Pages

General information about key library resources and services is below. See the tabs above for more detailed information about particular topics.

Reference Librarians

Reference librarians are available for guidance on your citation-checking. Reference desk hours are M-F 10am - 5pm and Sundays during the academic year from 1pm - 5pm. Visit us in person or reach us by phone, email, or live chat. See our Ask A Librarian page for more details. Also feel free to contact a specific reference librarian for assistance:

Scanning or Photocopying

The library provides two scanner/copiers, one in the Reserve Room and one near the Law Library Administration Suite (274). A free scan-to-email is option is available, allowing students to send scanned material as pdf files. For photocopying or printing, see the library circulation desk to check out a law journal copy card. Remember your BuckID when requesting a copy card.

Deciphering Unfamiliar Citations

The Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations is a useful database of legal citation abbreviations. Use it to understand an unfamiliar abbreviation so you can more easily find the publication in the library catalog or an online database.

Key Resources

HeinOnline [off-campus]: legal database that has official versions of many commonly cited sources such as the U.S. Code, the Code of Federal Regulations, the Federal Register, U.S. Supreme Court opinions, the Congressional Record, and more. HeinOnline's Law Journal Library is also useful for obtaining pdf versions of articles. If you have a citation to a law journal article, use the citation tab at the top of the HeinOnline screen to enter and retrieve the article.

Library Catalog: primary finding tool for OSU Libraries resources such as books and online journals. Search for resources by book or journal title, author, keyword, subject, etc. OSU Libraries provides search tips for using the catalog.

Moritz Law Library's Legal Research Databases: a complete list of databases subscribed to by the law library, in addition to key free resources and databases subscribed to by OSU's main library

Online Journals List: search by the name of the journal to find any online journal to which OSU has access

Checking Out Books

Using your BuckID, check out books and other materials at the Moritz Law Library's circulation desk near the entrance of the library. You can check out material from the Moritz Law Library or any other library in the OSU system. In the OSU library catalog, use the red "Request this item" button for items not in the Moritz Law Library collection but available at other OSU library locations. You will be prompted to enter your name (as it appears on your BuckID) and University ID number (shorter string of numbers on your BuckID). You will receive an email message when the item arrives.

In the OSU library catalog, also notice the blue "OhioLINK catalog" button, which you can use to search other Ohio academic libraries for a book. Once in the OhioLINK catalog, use the green "Request" button to request delivery of a book to the law library. You will be asked to enter your name and University ID, and will receive an email message when the item arrives.

  

Interlibrary Loan

If you cannot find a book, journal, or other source in either the OSU Library Catalog or the OhioLINK catalog, check the WorldCat catalog to see if a library outside Ohio has the item. If so, fill out an orange interlibrary loan request form at the reference desk. You can also use the main library's interlibrary service, ILLiad, to request articles and books. If you need a pdf version of a source that replicates the print version, specify this in the online form. You'll receive an email when the item is available for pick-up.

Subject Guide

Moritz Law Library
Contact:
Drinko Hall, Moritz College of Law, 55 West 12th Avenue, Columbus Ohio, 43214
614-292-6691
Website / Blog Page

My Library Account

Remember that you are personally responsible for material checked out on your library account. You can check due dates and renew materials using My Library Account. The borrowing period for OSU material is 17 weeks with possible renewals beyond that period. If an item is requested by another user, the due date may be sooner. For material received from other Ohio academic libraries, the borrowing period is 3 weeks with possible renewals beyond that period.

When requesting books and other material, it's a good idea to first check if another journal member has already requested the item.